Yangon City Development Committee

Yangon City Development Committee

Duties and Responsibilities of YCDC


Yangon City Development Committee (YCDC) is the administrative body of Yangon which covers a total area of 306.73 square miles. To maintain and develop the city within its territory, YCDC carries out the following duties and responsibilities:


  • drawing and implementing land policies, administration of lands, developing and enforcing planning controls, protection of heritage buildings, regulation of construction sites
  • construction and maintenance of parks, gardens, playgrounds, recreation centers
  • promoting events and exhibitions to enhance the work of YCDC
  • providing parking spaces for vehicles and reducing traffic congestion
  • construction, maintenance, upgrading and administration of markets
  • regulation, control and healthcare for animals and pets, including the inspection of meat and fishery markets and supervision of slaughter houses
  • practice of environmental protection and waste management, including collection and treatment of waste, management of landfills, prevention of water and air pollution
  • regulate and issue licenses for ferryboats and supervision of ferry businesses
  • licensing and regulating trading warehouses and pawn shops
  • ensuring the safety of the citizens through prevention of natural disasters and management of the fire services
  • issue licenses regarding slow moving vehicles such as tricycle rickshaws
  • providing water supply and sanitary systems
  • supervision of cemeteries and incinerators, and overseeing the land use of cemetery compounds
  • other beneficial municipal work such as environmental services



1. The Administration Department

2. Budget & Accounts Department

3. Work Inspection Department

4. Co-ordination Department

5. Assessors' Department

6. Revenue Department

7. Markets Department

8. Veterinary & Slaughter House Department

9. Pollution Control & Cleansing Department

10. Engineering Department (Roads & Bridges)

11. Engineering Department (Buildings)

12. Engineering Department (Water & Sanitation)

13. Motor Transport & Workshop Department

14. Central Stores Department

15. Playgrounds, Parks & Gardens Department

16. Security & Disciplinary Department

17. City Planning and Land Administration Department

18. Health Department

19. Public Relations and Information Department

20. Production Department

Website Address



Online Services

Business License

Advertising Board

Land Forms Submission

Building Forms Submission